How to Make a Hand Print Keepsake

I love a baby’s hand and foot print.  In my opinion there is nothing cuter, except maybe the baby itself.  I have seen hand print keepsakes everywhere and thought they were just adorable.  But me being a frugal and creative mama, I thought I could make my own.

I have a wonderful book with over 100 helpful hints on how to use baking soda.  In it is a recipe for “Play Clay”.  I like this recipe, because it’s really simple, you can keep it pliable for up to a week, and then dry your creations when your done.

Recipe for Play Clay

  • 2 cups baking soda
  • 1 cup corn starch
  • 1 1/4 cups cold water
  • Food coloring (optional)

Start by mixing the baking soda and cornstarch in a saucepan.  Add food coloring to your water if you choose.  I didn’t add any to mine.  Add water to baking soda and cornstarch mixture, stir to mix, then cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, 10 to 15 minutes.  Don’t overcook.

Clay should have the consistency of mashed potatoes.  Remove from heat and transfer to a plate.

Cover with a damp cloth to cool.  Mine took about an hour to cool.

I then rolled out part of the clay with a rolling-pin to about 1/2 inch thickness.  The other part I put in a container and stored it in the fridge for later.  It keeps for a week, but my son doesn’t do crafts so it eventually was tossed out with some left overs.

Then I dragged my son kicking and screaming to his high chair and placed his hand in the clay.  Remember…he doesn’t do crafts, so I only tortured him long enough to get a good print. ;)

Once the print was made, I cut around it with a knife.

I then had a cute hand print in clay that needed to be dried.  Before you dry your print, punch a hole in the top big enough for a ribbon to go through so that you can hang your keepsake up.

There are a few ways to dry the play clay.

  1. Air:  Set on wire rack overnight
  2. Oven: Preheat to 350˚, turn off, then place finished object on a cooking sheet.  Leave in until oven is cold.
  3. Microwave: Place object on a paper towel, bake at medium power for 30 seconds, turn over, bake for another 30 seconds.  Repeat until dry.

I like things simple, but I also like instant gratification.  I opted for the oven method of drying.  Worked pretty well.

Get crafty and let me know what kind of creations you come up.  I like the idea of giving these as a Mother’s Day gift for the Grandmas!

5 Comments on “How to Make a Hand Print Keepsake”

  1. Woah this blog is fantastic i love reading your articles. Stay up the good paintings! You recognize, lots of individuals are searching around for this info, you could aid them greatly.

  2. Thanks for your jot down How to Make a Hand Print Keepsake One Whimsy Housewife. I never thought of this before. It is a wonder what you can discover on the Internet.

  3. sabs says:

    If I air dried the object could I keep it as a keepsake for a long time or would it turn mouldy? I have a fan assisted oven,what would be yor advise; to bake it in the oven or air dry it in the garden? How long roughly to air dry? Also do u leave oven off and oven door open once the object is in baking? Thanks

    • You can let it dry over night. Just be sure to put it on a wire rack so the air can get to the underneath side. If you use the oven method, preheat your oven to 350. Once it reaches 350, turn the oven off, place the handprint in the oven, close the door and let it sit over night to dry completely. Hope this helps & thanks for stopping by!!

  4. Achini says:

    This really worked for me. Thanks!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers