No-Fuss Homemade Laundry Soap (Liquid)

As promised, here is another version of homemade laundry detergent.  The other day I showed you my version for powdered laundry detergent.  That recipe is great for babies or anyone with sensitive skin, but our whole family uses it and I love it!  View that post here.

Today’s recipe I can’t take credit for.  I found this version of detergent from one of my favorite bloggers, Jill at One Good Thing by Jillie.  Her blog is so full of useful tips and tricks.  Please take a moment to visit her site here!

In Jill’s post, she has great photos telling exactly how to do each step.  It’s so simple and that’s what I love about it.  Here is her step-by-step tutorial.

This recipe is great for HE washing machines, regular machines, safe but effective on cleaning clothes, and also safe for sensitive skin.

Super Fast & Easy Homemade Laundry Detergent

This makes 1 gallon

Ingredients

  • 3 Tablespoons Borax (found in laundry aisle at most grocery stores)
  • 3 Tablespoons Super Washing Soda (found in laundry aisle at most stores)
  • 2 Tablespoons Dawn dish soap (I use the blue dawn, because it cuts through grease better than any other I’ve tried)
  • 4 cups boiling water
  • 1 gallon jug

Directions

  1. Pour 4 cups of boiling water into gallon container.
  2. Add Borax, Washing Soda, and Dawn to container.  Swirl around until all ingredients are dissolved.
  3. Let the liquid cool.
  4. Once it’s cool, fill the container almost all the way to the top with water.  Bubbles will come out the top of the container.
  5. Use about one cup for large loads.

A few extra tips for you:

* This is safe for HE machines because it is low-sudsing.

* This detergent is watery, but it cleans really well.  It even removes my husband’s grease stains from his work uniforms.  I tried making it more concentrated by using less water, but the dish soap didn’t dissolve and just sat on top of the water.

* Make 2-3 batches at a time.  Use up rate is about 16-20 loads.  But it only costs about $.17/gallon!!  (My powdered soap recipe does seem to last a bit longer.)

Give this or the powdered version a try and let me know what you think!

10 Comments on “No-Fuss Homemade Laundry Soap (Liquid)”

  1. Annette says:

    The Dawn doesn’t bubble out if the washer and make a sudsy mess?

    • This is really a low sudsing detergent. Since you add a lot of water to the mixture, it really cuts down on the suds. I have a regular top loader washer and use this. My friend has a front loader and loves this soap!

  2. Cathy says:

    So, I’ve been using this recipe for a couple of weeks now. It’s brilliant. If I use a full cup per full load of laundry, it works out to less than two cents per load. It cleans as well as my normal All Free Clear and has all the scentless, dyeless advantages of that stuff. Thank you for the recipe and the hints–I’m boring all my friends to death with my dorky excitement. Now I’m wondering about other homemade cleaning agents…!

  3. Colleen Huston says:

    Hi, is the liquid version as good for sensitive skin? My husband is very allergic and we’ve not had much luck finding a soap that doesn’t irritate his skin. Thanks!

    • You might try my version for sensitive skin. My son has eczema and he has no trouble with that version. Best of luck!

    • Michelle says:

      I would try getting your husband to do a load of dishes with dawn and see if he has trouble with it. Haha… just kidding… he might say he is allergic just so he doesn’t have to do them! But seriously, if he is alright with dawn dish soap, the sensitive skin version of laundry soap wouldn’t be necessary. Dawn is very gentle and the small amount that you use in each load should be perfectly fine. You would still be using the borax and washing soda with the sensitive skin version.

    • I like what Michelle says. It is very diluted. And since it is so simple and cheap, it might be worth a try. Let me know if it helps. Thanks!

  4. Teresa says:

    My son and I are making this for the first today. Can’t wait to see how it works.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers