Meal Planning Made Easy

Lately I have been trying to get into the habit of meal planning for my family.  It’s a lot harder than I thought it would be…the habit, not the planning.  I’ve found that when I do manage to sit down and make a weekly menu and then a shopping list, we actually eat healthier and save money.

(source) 

Here is how I plan for my family’s weekly meals.  Hopefully, you my wonderful friends, will hold me accountable and help me keep this habit!

  1. Map out my weeks meals using a good list
  2. Gather a few good recipes
  3. Always keep an inventory of what’s in my freezer, fridge and pantry

Let’s actually start the above list with #3 and work our way backwards.

Always keep an inventory of what’s in my freezer, fridge and pantry…

After a trip to the store, I would get home and realize that I already had a bottle of BBQ sauce in the pantry and what I meant to get was ketchup.  Oops!  So, I have started using this Pantry Inventory List from Organized Home.  It says “Pantry” at the top, but I print out 3 and mark in Freezer and Fridge for my other 2.  I like that it has a “in & out” check box.  Pretty smart!

(source)

Gather a few good recipes…

Whether you use your memorized tried and true family favorites, your school fundraising cookbook, or the blessed internet google search, you know what works best for you. One of my favorite ways to find new recipes is the All Recipes Dinner Spinner App.  This is so easy to use!  Just select your dish type (dinner, salad, side), then select ingredients (pork, pasta, veggies, etc.), then select the amount of time you want your dinner to be ready in.  Then it pulls up all the recipes!  I usually only use recipes with 4 or more stars.  Always read the reviews, because most commenters will add in their tips and tricks too.  Happy spinning!

Map out my weeks meals using a good list…

I have searched and searched for the perfect “map” for my weekly menu.  There are so many out there!  I needed something that would allow me to view my week at a glance, plus have a place where I could write down my shopping list.  I found many with just the weekly view and a separate list, or ones with the week and a few lines on the side.  But those just didn’t work.  So, I made my own version, & available in 3 different colors!  For a limited time only, One Whimsy Housewife readers will receive 30% off of the Weekly Meal Planner and Shopping List!!  Just enter in WHIMSY4U at checkout.

This allows me to look at each meal, check my inventory, then write under the specific day exactly what I need.

I sit down on Sunday and figure up my weeks meals and shopping list.

I hope this helps you in some way.  Send me a quick comment and tell me what works for you! I’d love to hear from you!!

One Comment on “Meal Planning Made Easy”

  1. Meredith says:

    Okay, so need this pantry inventory list–just this morning I tried to go organize our chest freezer contents and gave up b/c I was too scared!


Leave a Reply

