Knowing When to Throw in the Towel…& Use It as Rags

Grease stains…

My laundry is full of them. Unfortunately, I don’t notice them until after they have been washed and dried.  Now, they are set-in grease stains.

I had one set-in stain in particular that I really wanted to remove.  It was a uniform shirt of mine and I needed to get the stain OUT.  It wasn’t HUGE, but it was annoyingly noticeable.

Attempt #1

  • Wash again (cold water)…hoping the detergent would notice the stain this time.
  • RESULT: no change

Attempt #2

  • Treat stain directly with liquid detergent
  • Wash again (hot water)
  • RESULT: no change

Attempt #3

  • Treat stain with stain remover (Spray n’ Wash)
  • Let stain remover sit over night
  • Wash again (cold water)
  • RESULT: no change…AGHHHHH!!!

Attempt #4

  • Time for a little research…thank you google.
  • I found a few sites that recommended spraying the stain with WD-40.  Crazy, right?!  The “science” behind this theory is that the WD-40 (which is a petroleum product) “reactivates” the set-in grease stain.  You will then treat the old stain as a fresh new stain.  Okay…I guess that makes sense.  I’ve tried crazier things before.
  • Sprayed stain with WD-40.  Let it sit for 30 minutes.
  • Then applied Dawn Dish Soap (blue kind) to the “fresh” stain.  I then took a scrub brush to work the soap into the stain.  Let that sit for a while (maybe another 30 minutes.)
  • Wash as usual (cold water)
  • RESULT: An even BIGGER stain than before!!!  Plus, a huge stain on the back of the shirt where the WD-40 soaked through!  Are you kidding me?!?!


Attempt #5

  • Time to break-out the BIG GUNS!
  • Soak entire shirt overnight in full-strength degreaser (Simple Green Cleaner)
  • Treat stain with Dawn AGAIN & Wash AGAIN (cold water)
  • RESULT:  Absolutely NO CHANGE.  There is still a HUGE stain on the front, and now the back.

That’s it…I give up.  I’m throwing in the towel.

Please…..help this Whimsy Housewife!  Comment with your suggestions on removing set-in grease stains, before this T-shirt becomes rags.

7 Comments on “Knowing When to Throw in the Towel…& Use It as Rags”

  1. Meredith says:

    I so, so need to throw in the towel–with my dish towels, anyway. Seriously, how do they get so irreparably gross in such a short amount of time?!

  2. gayla says:

    Corn meal!!!!! Really, it works like that stuff they soak up pike in the lunchroom with. Pile on enough meal to compleetly cover the stain. Leave it for several hours, or over night. I get grease on me all the time from cooking and this has saved many a grey shirt.

  3. Bethany says:

    What you needed was Dawn power dissolver it will take grease off anything even the driveway.

  4. I used Awesome ( a cleaner I found at the dollar tree). Worked great to get grease stains out of my favorite shirt that someone decided to borrow.


Leave a Reply

